2014 Board of Directors Election Results

Linthicum, MD – November 19, 2013 – Care Pharmacies Cooperative Inc. announced the results of the 2014 Board of Directors election that was held at its annual member meeting held in Hershey, Pennsylvania.  Two new members were elected to the Board, with two incumbents rejoining the Board for a second three-year term in office.

John Coster – Ph.D., R.Ph., is the Senior Director of Government Relations for the Safety Net Hospitals for Pharmaceutical Access. John is responsible for maintaining and building relationships with Members of Congress and directing SNHPA’s advocacy efforts. From January 2009 until April 2013 John served as Senior Vice President of Government Affairs for the National Community Pharmacists Association. He has also served as Vice President, Federal Affairs and Public Policy, Rite Aid Corporation, and served on the policy and regulatory staff of the National Association of Chain Drug Stores (NACDS) for 10 years.

Mark T. Jensen – is a corporate attorney in Baltimore, Maryland who leads the transactional department at Bowie & Jensen, LLC, a law-firm which he co-founded in 1992.  Mr. Jensen earned his Bachelor of Arts degree from Hamline University in 1980, where he graduated ‘magna cum laude,’ and graduated with the University of New York at Buffalo Law School, class of 1985.  Mr. Jensen currently serves on the Board of Directors of the MedStar Health System.

Dr. Jeff Dunn –  Pharm.D., M.B.A., is Senior Vice President at VRx, an integrated Pharmacy Services Management Company.  VRx incorporates PBM functions, P&T/formulary management, Medication Therapy Management (MTM)/Integrated Care Management (ICM), and government functions for commercial and Medicare Part D employer groups and health plans. Dr. Dunn earned his doctor of pharmacy degree from the University of Utah College of Pharmacy and his Master of Business Administration degree from the David Eccles School of Business at the University of Utah.

Dr. Michael Kim – Mike Kim was re-elected to a three-year term.  Dr. Kim attended the University of Maryland at College Park for undergraduate studies and graduated with a Doctorate in Pharmacy from Howard University College of Pharmacy.  He currently owns Grubb’s Pharmacy, Psych CARE Pharmacy, Jessup CARE Pharmacy, Grubb’s NW Specialty Pharmacy, Grubb’s SE Pharmacy & Mini-mart, and Ellicott City Pharmacy.  Mike is the current Vice Chairman of the CARE Board of Directors, and the newly elected Vice President of the DC Pharmaceutical Association and Board member for the APhA Editorial Advisory Board of Pharmacy Today magazine.    


The 2014 CARE Pharmacies Board of Directors

Molly Carr (2), Barry Deutschman (1), David Posner (1), Dr. Michael Kim (3), Steve Rule (1), Marie-Terese Oyalowo(2),  Stanton Ades (2), Shawn Eisemann(1), John Coster(3), Mark Jensen (3), Jeff Dunn (3)

Final election ballots were received and tallied at the 2014 Annual Member Meeting.  The new Board Members will officially assume their duties on February 26, 2014 at the next CARE Pharmacies Board of Directors meeting.

Posted in